Album Review: Tom Misch – Beat Tape 2

Music producer, Tom Misch, is due to release his latest project, Beat Tape 2 -a continuation from Beat Tape 1- through his own label Beyond The Groove, on Friday 28th August 2015. The collection encompasses a fusion of cool and refreshing sounds throughout.

Misch embeds a range of genres into his music, such as Jazz, Neo-Soul, Hip-Hop, Acoustic and more. The 20 year old South Londoner is particularly influenced by one of Hip-Hop’s key producers, J Dilla. Carrying a serene vibe throughout, Beat Tape 2 is comprised of a sea of sounds and collaborations from several artists.

The record begins with The Journey. Providing a taste of what to expect from the rest of the album, a spectrum of sounds are portrayed in the song to craft a rhythmic vibe. The tuneful guitar strings played on this opening track, resonate and draw listeners into the beginning of a sonic journey.

On Colours of Freedom, Misch sings fresh and smooth vocals. The upbeat song possesses an electronic/dance sound, as solid beats resound throughout. This, mixed with the honest lyrics delicately sung by Tom, prove that he is a man of many talents. Producer Bearcubs was also involved in the making of this record.

One of my favourites on the album is Wake Up This Day, featuring vocals from Australian neo-soul artist Jordan Rakei, imagery of a rising sun is set through the relatable and inspiring lyrics that neatly fit in with the song title. The relaxing tone of Rakei’s voice help form the calming effect displayed in the album as a whole.

The collection concludes with the appeasing song ‘Home’. Bringing a sense of comfort and closure through its warming instrumentals and clapping cadence, an intimate and domestic ambience is created. The light and atmospheric melodies composed in this piece truly fulfil the sense of home.

Beat Tape 2 will be available to download on iTunes from 28th August 2015.

Track Listing:

  1. The Journey
  2. Wander With Me (feat. Carmody)
  3. Nightgowns (feat. Loyle Carner)
  4. Falafel
  5. Wake Up This Day (feat. Jordan Rakei)
  6. The Midst Of It All (feat. Sam Wills)
  7. Come Back
  8. Your Love (feat. Alexa Harley)
  9. Hark (feat. Alfa Mist)
  10. Colours Of Freedom (ft. Bearcubs)
  11. Beautiful Escape (feat. Zak Abel)
  12. Home

By Maxine Harrison

The Verse Staff

Next Post

POLITICS: Jeremy Corbyn, The Refugee Crisis, and People vs. Politics

Mon Sep 14 , 2015
On Saturday, millions across Britain were ecstatic as Jeremy Corbyn became the newest leader of the Labour Party with a landslide victory. This last weekend, politics and people have never been more at contrast. Corbyn, an anti-war, pro Palestinian, anti-austerity veteran will be facing Cameron in Prime Ministers Questions for […]

You May Like

Get In Touch

Editor in Chief                                            Alice Pierre & Daisy Bradshaw

Student Voice Editor                       Sarah Tann

Arts Editor                                      Bethany Jo O’Neill

Entertainment Editor                         Federica Purcaro

Creative Editor                                  Roxanne Clark

News Editor             

Social Media Manager                                 n/a

Photographers                                                Alice Pierre                                                          Tate Batham

Website Manager                                          Amber Eder



About us

The Verse is run by students, for students. If you’re studying at University of Brighton and you’d like to get involved by writing for us or becoming a sub-editor, we welcome you to contact us via email.

The Verse is funded and supported by Brighton Students’ Union.

The views expressed on The Verse online newspaper do not necessarily represent the views of Brighton Students’ Union, its management or employees. For more information or for any enquiries, please contact the Marketing and Communications Team at