Runners’ change of face for newest member at Brighton Marathon

A Brighton running team wore matching masks to this year’s Brighton Marathon, in support of their newest member.

It was the first full marathon for the Prosecco Pacers’ John-Dean Mooney, who was expecting a running time of three-and-a-half hours. The rest of the team, each donning masks of Mooney’s face, participated in the 10k run earlier in the morning.

Neil Beglin, 50, of Brighton, said: “Once you’ve done marathons, 10k is just a gentle jog.”

The Verse Staff

Join The Discussion!

Next Post

PREVIEW: City Sound Project, Canterbury, 29-30/4/2017

Mon Apr 10 , 2017
The Verse’s Csenge Krokovay previews Canterbury’s student-centred City Sound Project this year, featuring Spring King and more! After a day trip to the ancient city of Canterbury, you may think there’s not a lot going on. Sure, it’s pretty, but does it warrant a trip? Yes, it does. Because, in April, […]
city sound project

Get In Touch

Editor in Chiefcontactverse@gmail.com – Alice Pierre

Student Voice Editorversestudentvoice@gmail.com – Sarah Tann

Arts Editorversethearts@gmail.com – Katherine Hager

Entertainment Editorverseentertain@gmail.com – Adam Zak Hawley

Creative Editorversecreate@gmail.com – Chloe Price

News Editorversenews@gmail.com – Clare Cornwell

Social Media Manager – Lottie Bulmer, Carolina Oettinger, Aimee Murphy

Photographers – Matthew Fairbrother, Clare Cornwell, Alice Pierre, Tate Batham, Fraser Ward, Ellie Pike

Website Manager – Amber Eder

 

 

About us

The Verse is run by students, for students. If you’re studying at University of Brighton and you’d like to get involved by writing for us or becoming a sub-editor, we welcome you to contact us via email.

The Verse is funded and supported by Brighton Students’ Union.

The views expressed on The Verse online newspaper do not necessarily represent the views of Brighton Students’ Union, its management or employees. For more information or for any enquiries, please contact the Marketing and Communications Team at bsucommunications@brighton.ac.uk