Press "Enter" to skip to content

Album Review: Tom Misch – Beat Tape 2

Music producer, Tom Misch, is due to release his latest project, Beat Tape 2 -a continuation from Beat Tape 1- through his own label Beyond The Groove, on Friday 28th August 2015. The collection encompasses a fusion of cool and refreshing sounds throughout.

Misch embeds a range of genres into his music, such as Jazz, Neo-Soul, Hip-Hop, Acoustic and more. The 20 year old South Londoner is particularly influenced by one of Hip-Hop’s key producers, J Dilla. Carrying a serene vibe throughout, Beat Tape 2 is comprised of a sea of sounds and collaborations from several artists.

The record begins with The Journey. Providing a taste of what to expect from the rest of the album, a spectrum of sounds are portrayed in the song to craft a rhythmic vibe. The tuneful guitar strings played on this opening track, resonate and draw listeners into the beginning of a sonic journey.

On Colours of Freedom, Misch sings fresh and smooth vocals. The upbeat song possesses an electronic/dance sound, as solid beats resound throughout. This, mixed with the honest lyrics delicately sung by Tom, prove that he is a man of many talents. Producer Bearcubs was also involved in the making of this record.

One of my favourites on the album is Wake Up This Day, featuring vocals from Australian neo-soul artist Jordan Rakei, imagery of a rising sun is set through the relatable and inspiring lyrics that neatly fit in with the song title. The relaxing tone of Rakei’s voice help form the calming effect displayed in the album as a whole.

The collection concludes with the appeasing song ‘Home’. Bringing a sense of comfort and closure through its warming instrumentals and clapping cadence, an intimate and domestic ambience is created. The light and atmospheric melodies composed in this piece truly fulfil the sense of home.

Beat Tape 2 will be available to download on iTunes from 28th August 2015.

Track Listing:

  1. The Journey
  2. Wander With Me (feat. Carmody)
  3. Nightgowns (feat. Loyle Carner)
  4. Falafel
  5. Wake Up This Day (feat. Jordan Rakei)
  6. The Midst Of It All (feat. Sam Wills)
  7. Come Back
  8. Your Love (feat. Alexa Harley)
  9. Hark (feat. Alfa Mist)
  10. Colours Of Freedom (ft. Bearcubs)
  11. Beautiful Escape (feat. Zak Abel)
  12. Home

By Maxine Harrison

Be First to Comment

Join The Discussion!

%d bloggers like this: